70% voter turnout, ballot organized in 80 municipalities

A total of 2,532 candidates are in the running, with the ruling BJP having the maximum number of 825 candidates followed by the Congress which fielded 706 candidates. This is the first time EVMs have been used in state civic polls

Image used for representational purposes. PTI

Guwahati: Voter turnout estimated at 70 percent was recorded in Assam’s civic body polls on Sunday, which ended peacefully, the state election commission said.
No untoward incidents were reported and no applications for re-election from any part of the state were received, he said.

The provisional overall percentage of polls up to 8 p.m. was 70%, the Commission said in a statement.
Voting ended at 4 p.m., but reports are still being compiled which could cause the final turnout to fluctuate, he said.

Voting was held for 920 wards in 80 city councils, with candidates from 57 wards declared uncontested.

All electronic voting machines have been securely moved to vaults at headquarters and branch headquarters, the statement said.

EVMs were used for the first time in the history of municipal elections in the state.
No untoward incidents like booth capture or similar poll-related violence took place, he added.

Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, State Cabinet Ministers Atul Bora and Jogen Mohan, and Rajya Sabha MP and former State Congress Leader Ripun Bora were among those who voted during the day.

Municipal elections are an important step in ensuring public participation in the governance of urban areas. As polls of urban local bodies take place across Assam today, I urge everyone to exercise their democratic right to determine their future, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted in the morning.

A total of 2,532 candidates were in the running, with the ruling BJP having the maximum number of 825 candidates.

At least 706 candidates ran on Congress tickets, while the Asom Gana Parishad nominated 243 candidates.

The number of eligible voters was 16,73,899, including 8,41,534 women and 17 transgender.

The counting of votes will take place on March 9.

Read all Recent news, New trends, Cricket News, bollywood news,
India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Previous Ukraine-Russia Live Updates: Putin, Israel and Zelensky
Next Residents fleeing town near Kiev caught in shelling