The vote for the mayor of the local municipality of Dr Beyers Naude ends in deadlock

The DA nominated Ewald Loock (DA) as its candidate to be mayor again at a special council meeting yesterday, July 21, which ended in a stalemate.

The vote for a new Mayor and Chief Whip of Dr Beyers Naude Local Municipality (DBNLM) deadlocked at a special council meeting yesterday, July 21, when the DA nominated Ewald Loock (DA) as candidate to be mayor again.

They nominated EFF adviser Tracey Plaatjies as their candidate for Chief Whip.

The ANC has nominated Willem Safers (ANC) as its mayoral candidate and Thembekile Spogter (ANC) as its chief whip.

The appointments followed an offer by the DA to govern the municipality under a power-sharing agreement. The ANC refused the offer.

Voting began and ended in a 12-12 vote deadlock.

In the absence of a majority vote for a mayor, the 2022/23 municipal budget could not be tabled for adoption. With regard to the MFMA, the mayor must present a budget.

DBNLM communications manager Edwardine Abader said another meeting will be called for an election of mayor and council whip, pending a possible intervention from COGTA’s MEC.

We live in a world where fact and fiction collide

In times of uncertainty, you need trusted journalism. For 14 days free, you can access a world of in-depth analysis, investigative journalism, leading opinion and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter, you will be charged R75 per month. You can cancel at any time and if you cancel within 14 days you will not be charged.

Previous Beginning of works on the new square of Pocatello
Next Metropolitan Workshop gets green light for infill homes on 1920s Lewisham estate