Three Huron County communities failed to secure bailout funding

The US federal bailout law aims to help municipalities that suffered during the COVID-19 pandemic get back on their feet. However, there are places that did not receive their allowance.

In a report recently released by, three communities in Huron County have rejected or have not requested federal funding for recovery from COVID-19. These communities are Port Hope, the Township of Pointe Aux Barques and the Township of Sand Beach.

Some communities in Tuscola and Sanilac counties, such as the Village of Gagetown, the Village of Minden City, the Township of Wheatland and the Township of Delaware, have also rejected the possibility of obtaining federal funding.

These communities were eligible for the following federal funding:
• Port Hope rejected $ 26,062.
• The township of Pointe Aux Barques has not requested $ 942.
• Sand Beach did not ask for $ 118,799.
• The Township of Wheatland rejected $ 48,148.
• Minden City rejected $ 34,645.
• Gagetown rejected $ 37,995.
• The Township of Delaware has not requested $ 70,965.

Patricia Gotfedson, the Pointe Aux Barques township supervisor, said the township initially filed documents to receive the funds, but ultimately did not. Its main reason was that the township was unable to prove that it had suffered difficulties during the pandemic.

“We only have seven residents a year,” Gotfedson said. “Basically we have 21 residents, most of them are not in the community all year round. We tried, we filled out the papers, but we couldn’t prove a test.

The seasonal area of ​​Huron County is made up entirely of residences and has no businesses.

Port Hope and Sand Beach Township Board members could not be reached for comment on this story.

These municipalities are among 45 municipalities in the state that either refused to accept funding or did not apply. Instead, the funds allocated to them will be distributed among 1,667 other small towns, townships and villages that have requested stimulus funds.

According to the Michigan Department of the Treasury, the Huron County Municipality that was eligible for the most money is Bad Ax, which received $ 305,004 because it had the highest population estimate in 2019 at 2,914. residents. The township of Pointe Aux Barques had the lowest eligible amount.

The Township of Worth received the most funding in Sanilac County with $ 380,156, with a 2019 population estimate of 3,632. The village of Melvin had the lowest eligible funding at $ 17,584, with an estimated population of 168.

Caro received the most funding in Tuscola County with $ 417,418, with a 2019 population estimate of 3,988. Gagetown was eligible for the least funding, with a 2019 population estimate of 363.

A total of $ 644 million has been allocated to townships, villages and towns across the state through the Federal Coronavirus Local Tax Recovery Fund.

The American Rescue Plan Act is a $ 1.7 trillion federal stimulus package passed earlier this year to help Americans recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, of which $ 350 billion has been directed to governments state, local, territorial and tribal. Payments come directly from the US Treasury.

The Huron County government has received $ 6 million in federal funds to use in various county projects and to provide a risk premium to employees. About $ 3 million has already been disbursed earlier this year and the remainder will be disbursed in 2022.

The Tuscola County government received $ 10.15 million in federal funds and the Sanilac County government received nearly $ 8 million in funds, according to the US Department of the Treasury.

Previous Photo Gallery: Old Town Cape, Inc.??s Parade of Lights 2021 (11/29/21)
Next Family seeks answers after father of 4 dies in Pleasant Hill Circle shooting