What do you want to know


The deadline to register to vote in Indiana ahead of the general election is Oct. 11. Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the November 8 election.

Who is eligible?

  • U.S. citizens and Indiana residents age 18 or older by November 8.
  • Those who are not currently in jail after being convicted of a crime.
  • Residents who have lived in the constituency where they are voting for at least 30 days before the election.
  • Those who are registered.

Further information: Indiana Voters’ Bill of Rights

How can I register to vote?

You can check your registration status online here. If you are not registered to vote, you can register online at the same website or by mail or in person.

To register to vote by mail, complete and return the voter registration form by October 11. The completed form can be mailed to your county’s voter registration office or to the Indiana Electoral Division, 302 W. Washington St., Room E204. The Marion County Voter Registration Office is located in the City County Council Building, 200 E. Washington St.

You can also apply in person at your local county clerk’s office or at any BMV licensing branch during an “identification transaction” such as obtaining or renewing a driver’s license, license or identity card. You can also go in person to a public assistance office if you are asking for a service or help.

Once your application is received, your county voter registration office will process it and determine your eligibility. Eligible voters will receive a voter registration acknowledgment card and are now ready to go to the polls.

If you do not receive a voter registration card or notice within 30 days, you can call the Marion County Board of Votes Registration at 317-327-5042.

Which offices are up for election?


  • Assessor
  • Listener
  • prosecution attorney
  • Recorder
  • Sheriff
  • Judicial offices


  • The 50 seats in the Indiana State Senate
  • The 100 seats of the Indiana State House of Representatives
  • Three State Executive Offices: Secretary of State, Auditor, and Treasurer
  • Indiana Court of Appeals 5th District Judge Nancy Vaidik Runs for Retention Election


  • Seat of Senator Todd Young in the United States Senate
  • The nine seats in the House of Representatives
  • A special election for Indiana’s 2nd congressional district in the United States House to fill the vacant seat after the death of Jackie Walorski in a car accident on August 3

School boards:

  • Decatur Township Metropolitan School District
  • East Allen County Schools
  • Fort Wayne Community Schools
  • Franklin Township Community School Society
  • Indianapolis Public Schools
  • Lawrence Township Metropolitan School District
  • Perry Township Metropolitan School District
  • Pike Township Metropolitan School District
  • Warren Township Metropolitan School District
  • Washington Township Metropolitan School District

Contact editor Jayden Kennett at 317-762-7847 or email [email protected] Follow her on Twitter @JournoJay.

Previous Al Shaqab signs a memorandum of understanding with the Department of Animal Resources of the Ministry of Municipality
Next STANLY MAGAZINE: Albemarle housing director talks running his 'city within a city' - The Stanly News & Press